Sweet Failure

I have really learned a thing or two when attempting 2 new crafting things (one of which I have a pretty hefty financial investment in):

1. I stink at failing…meaning, I don’t like it….ESPECIALLY when it comes to crafting.

2. I have been greatly humbled by the fact that I “can’t do everything I want the first time”…I know, my sis-in-law laughed at me because I sound super full of myself. 🙂

3. I’m a lot more like my prideful 5-year-old than I’d like to admit.  Yep…she learned it from watching me.  I think I tend to do only that which I know I will succeed at (which is why I can say “I do stuff right the first time I do it…see #2).

4.  Failure is VERY encouraging in that when you actually DO succeed at that which you have previously failed…it’s SUCH a reward!  Had I never failed, having a great completed project would be much less exciting.  And let me tell you, I’m EXCITED!  : )

*The slideshow is the product of the successes after my recent failures*

Would you say you avoid failure?  Or are you the type to jump in with both feet knowing the excitement of mastering something completely new?  I still haven’t figured out how many areas I do this in…maybe I’m avoiding it subconsciously!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 16:51:58

    Oh, my poor, poor love… all I can say is, you married a failure, so you should be constantly encouraged & excited in our marriage! But really, I think that I learn best from failing, which means I’m learning stuff all the time. 😛

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 22:02:51

    I HATE failing. I HATE being told that what I think I *know* is not the right answer. Which is why I have never been the kind of student that raises her hand to answer. I would rather listen to everyone else say the wrong answer and either confirm my correctness, or expose my stupidness (that I get to keep humbly to myself, which really isn’t humble at all). This is also probably why I don’t like it when a certain child of mine thinks he is always right.

    When it comes to crafting…if I fail at something…I will either decide it IS worth it to pay someone else to do it, OR stalk the internet until I find exactly how to do it right. Then, I call my hip over and I brainstorm with her and she tells me how she would do it, then I do it the way I want to do it. But she is gracious to me and already knows I’m going to do that before she gives her humble opinion. I think this might be another example of how I hate being wrong. Hmph.

    Reply

  3. Brooke
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 03:41:42

    I love you Carrie.

    Reply

  4. Ash
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 01:59:39

    But I am always happy to receive a *fail* !!! Carrie, feel free to note that as well! Mom, you too!!!!

    Reply

  5. Brooke
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 19:11:56

    LOL…Ash, it’s the “product of my recent failures” BECAUSE, they are the successes AFTER my thrown away failures…(I couldn’t even think to take pictures the first ones were so ruined). I was actually really excited about how yours turned out. 🙂 I made adjustments to the wording above. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

