The Need for Fellowship

I don’t know about you, but I NEED fellowship.

I think that at times I have fooled myself into thinking I don’t.  But, I really do.

I need those who are going to grow me in my relationship with the Lord, those who will listen to what’s going on and give me advice that I sometimes don’t want to hear, those who will laugh at my cluelessness or brush off a thoughtless comment I made because they know what I said I didn’t mean the way it came out, those who will be there just to spend time with me and breathe life into me, those who remind me of my Lord just by the way they live their life.

Acts 2:42 talks about the early church:

42They were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.

There is a reason they were doing this!  It drew them together, unified them, and encouraged them in their faith.  I know that there is NOTHING like chatting about the Lord’s Words, breaking bread (cookies, chocolate…), and praying with those the Lord has gifted your life with.

So, to those who are my sisters in Christ (I won’t embarrass you cause you know who you are), no matter whether your family or friend…I cherish you more than you can know and praise our gracious Lord for your friendship.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 19:58:01

    I need YOUR fellowship. 🙂

    But yes. I love how God wallops you over the head with what he’s been trying to tell you for a while. And when I say “you” I mean me, too. 🙂

    You pour out so much for everyone, it is SO important that you have something or someone pouring into you! Even with your amazing gift to serve, you should not go un-served. Love you and love what God is doing through you!

    Reply

  2. Jessica Wilhite
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 16:09:33

    We all definitely need fellowship to encourage, support & just to be there for eachother. It’s always great to have sisters in Christ for this exact reason. It’s so AMAZING how God puts certain people in our life to keep us accountable & to grow in his love & word. You are amazing Brooke & very encouraging to us all! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Brooke
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 18:23:51

    Thanks girls! 🙂
    And I fully agree Jess, God puts the perfect people in our lives for those very purposes!
    And I’m with ya on the “wallopin'” Care. 🙂 Good stuff right there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

